October 23, 2022   |   by Crouse Linwood


Competitors in the Australian Logger Titles got the perfect blank canvas to perform traditional surfing manoeuvres, when the bcu Australian Surf Festival moved north to the long tapered walls of Arrawarra Headland today. Are you a BIG lover of 2023 Nude Calendars, find a big collection of 2023 Calendar here.

Dane Pioli (Tweed Heads, NSW) performed a series of giant traditional turns in the Open Mens division posting a heat total of 17.50 (out of a possible 20 points) in his opening heat, followed by 17.60 in the quarterfinals. The former Australian Champion unleashed a combination of impressive turns to be awarded with the heat totals.

Clinton Guest (Kawana, Qld), followed suit and blew away the judges in the division, bagging solid wins in his first round and quarterfinal heats. The reigning Australian Open Mens Longboard Champion posted two heat totals in the 17-point range and cemented himself a spot in the Open Mens semi-finals.

Both Guest and Pioli were front-runners for the $100.00 bcu money turn award at the quarterfinal mark, however the purse was handed to Pioli based on his overall heat scores. The win will see him win a $100.00 bank account courtesy of bcu.

Other Open Mens Logger quarterfinal winners included: Patrick O’Leary (Dicky Beach, Qld) and Liam Griggs-Kennelly (Aireys Inlet, Vic).

Greg Brown (Jan Juc, Vic) dominated the opening round of the Over-40 Mens Loggers division with a solid combination of traditional manoeuvres. Brown shot past his fellow rivals with two 8.25 wave scores (out of a possible ten points) to get the edge over his fellow surfers. Brown’s closest rival Neil Thompson (WA) put up an impressive fight in the heat, however he was unable to muster up the required 9.75 score to take the heat win.

Other Over-40 Mens round one Loggers winners were: Wally Allen (Cooroy, Qld) and Craig Davies (Peregian Beach, Qld) who will both make their next appearance in the quarterfinals.

The bcu Australian Surf Festival will resume tomorrow with the Australian Longboard Titles and the Australian Logger Titles.

bcu will be providing a $100 bank account for the #bcumoneyturn, which will be awarded daily to the surfer who executes the biggest turn as determined by the head judge.

More than 500 surfers from around Australia will contest the surfing showpiece from July 31-August 17 with National titles to be decided in Open Surfmasters, Longboard, Logger and Bodyboard divisions.